John James Audubon Just Got Flossy

April 7, 2009

I recently finished part one of a mini embroidery project.  I’m doing a small series of waterfowl inspired from Audubon’s illustrations.  Luckily I received my best reference as a Christmas present.

511pb2cs39l_sl500_aa240_jpg

First up is the Snowy Egret, or Ciconiiformes Ardeidae Egretta thula as I always say.

dscf00181

I had also recently bought Embroidered Birds by Helen M. Stevens from Daedalus Books.  It truthfully was only a little helpful as far as techniques, but was still interesting to look at.

I started using a linen cotton needlepoint fabric.  I had a difficult transferring my design at first, but I think I’ve got it now.

dscf0008

I started with the darkest shadows first and worked color range dark to light in order.

dscf0010

dscf0011

dscf0012

It turned out pretty good I think.  Not the best lighting, but here it is:

dscf0023

dscf0022

The feet were just as tedious as they were fun.

Also, after knocking my  table top fashioned out of a magazine off of the chair arms enough times, I got fed up and got smarter and made this:

dscf0029

Next up is the Brown Pelican, you know, the Pelecaniformes Pelecanidae Pelecanus occidentalis.

One Response to “John James Audubon Just Got Flossy”

  1. […] A good kick in the ass to make me start my pelican, # 2 in the series. […]

Leave a Reply

